News Release

Media Alert: RealNetworks, MTV Networks And Verizon To Announce Major Partnership In Digital Music

August 20, 2007

What:
RealNetworks, Inc. (NASDAQ: RNWK), MTV Networks (NYSE: VIA.A and VIA.B) and Verizon (NYSE: VZ) will host a press call to discuss and address questions regarding a significant new partnership in the digital music space.

Who:
Rob Glaser, chairman and CEO, RealNetworks, Inc.
Van Toffler, president, MTV Networks Music/Logo/Films Group
John Stratton, EVP and CMO, Verizon

When:
August 21, 2007 at 11:00 a.m. ET/8:00 a.m. PT

Dial-in:
Toll Free: 1-800-857-5305
Int'l: 1-773-681-5857
Passcode: Press Conference

A telephone replay of the call will be available after 12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT at 1-888-484-8256 and 1-203-369-3737 for international callers.

Media Contacts:
Julie Crabill
SHIFT Communications for RealNetworks
RealRhapsody@shiftcomm.com
408-219-5617

Ronda Scott
RealNetworks
rscott@real.com
415-999-3279

Matthew Hutchison
MTV Networks' Music Group
Matthew.Hutchison@mtvstaff.com  
212-846-8052

Mariana Agathoklis
MTV Networks' Music Group
Mariana.Agathoklis@mtvstaff.com  
212-846-5755

Jeffrey Nelson
Verizon Wireless
Jeffrey.Nelson@verizonwireless.com  
917-968-9175

Kelly Crummey
Weber Shandwick for Verizon Wireless
kcrummey@webershandwick.com  
617-520-7263

####