Wipe Handheld Option (Hard Reset) - BlackBerry® Curve™ 9330 Smartphone
Is this helpful?  
Cancel  

Wipe Handheld Option (Hard Reset) - BlackBerry® Curve™ 9330 Smartphone

A hard reset may help with a blank or frozen screen, apps crashing or freezing, keypad/touchscreen problems, can't hear, device making noises, can't make or receive calls, and device won't sync. Our Troubleshooting Assistant can help you with other device issues if you aren't currently using the tool.

Note To determine Device Software Version, refer to View Phone Information.

 

Device Software Version 5.x

Warning Performing this procedure removes all data including downloaded apps, email accounts, media files, and app data. Only perform a security wipe if absolutely necessary. Prior to wiping the handheld, ensure there is a recent backup of the data. Refer to one of the following for assistance:

 

  1. From the Home screen, press the Menu button.
  2. Select Options.
    Applications screen with Options
  3. Select Security Options.
    Options screen with Security Options
  4. Select Security Wipe.
    Security options screen with Security Wipe
  5. Ensure that the appropriate options are selected, enter blackberry into the 'Enter to confirm device wipe' field then select Wipe.
    Note Selected when a check mark is present.
    Emails, Contacts, etc.
    All app data is erased.
    User Installed Apps
    All user installed apps are erased.
    Media Card
    All data on the Media Card is erased.
    Security Wipe screen with Wipe

 

Top

 

Device Software Version 6.x

Warning Performing this procedure removes all data including downloaded apps, email accounts, media files, and app data. Only perform a security wipe if absolutely necessary. Prior to wiping the handheld, ensure there is a recent backup of the data. Refer to one of the following for assistance:

 

  1. From the Home screen All tray, select Options.
    Note To expand the tray, press the Menu button then select Open Tray.
    Home screen All tray with Options
  2. Select Security.
    Options with Security
  3. Select Security Wipe.
    Security with Security Wipe
  4. Ensure that the appropriate options are selected, enter blackberry into the Enter to confirm wipe field then select Wipe Data.
    Note Selected when a check mark is present.
    Emails, Contacts, etc.
    All app data is erased.
    User Installed Apps
    All user installed apps are erased.
    Media Card
    All data on the Media Card is erased.
    Security Wipe screen with Wipe Data

 

Top

Last Modified: December 6, 2013
Is this helpful?  
Cancel