Hard Reset - DROID Pro by MOTOROLA
Is this helpful?  
Cancel  

Hard Reset - DROID Pro by MOTOROLA

A hard reset may help with a blank or frozen screen, apps crashing or freezing, keypad/touchscreen problems, can't hear, device making noises, can't make or receive calls, and device won't sync. Our Troubleshooting Assistant can help you with other device issues if you aren't currently using the tool.

Caution Performing a hard reset removes ALL data including the Google account, system data, app data, app settings, and downloaded apps. Only perform this reset if absolutely necessary.

Note Disable Automatic Restore prior to performing a hard reset when attempting to determine whether a third-party app is the cause of an operating system / app issue.

Preferred method
Alternate method

 

Preferred method

  1. From the home screen, select the App icon.
    Home screen with apps menu
  2. Select Settings.
    Note If the app icon is missing, select App menu filter (located at the top) then select All apps.
    apps menu with Settings
  3. Select Privacy.
    Settings with Privacy
  4. From the Personal data section, select Factory Data Reset.
    Factory data reset
  5. Select Reset phone.
    Note If presented, enter the current passcode or draw the unlock pattern.
    Reset phone
  6. Select Erase Everything.
    Note Allow up to 3 minutes for the factory data reset and reboot processes to complete.
    Erase Everything
  7. If necessary, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.

 

Top

 

Alternate method

  1. Press and hold the Power button.
    Power button
  2. Select Power off.
    Power off
  3. Press and hold the R key+M key+Power button simultaneously until the recovery screen (exclamation point with an android figure) appears.
    R key and M key with Power button
    Power button
  4. From the Recovery screen, press the volume up+down keys simultaneously.
    Recovery screen
    Volume keys
  5. Select wipe data/factory reset.
    Note Utilize the volume keys (up / down) to highlight and the power button to select.
    System recovery menu with wipe data/factory reset
  6. Select Yes -- delete all user data.
    Note Allow the factory reset process to complete (approximately 1 minute).
    Confirmation screen with Yes -- delete all user data
  7. Select reboot system now.
    System recovery menu with reboot system now
  8. If necessary, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.

 

Top

Last Modified: December 4, 2013
Is this helpful?  
Cancel