Hard Reset - Hydro ELITE by Kyocera
Is this helpful?  
Cancel  

Hard Reset - Hydro ELITE by Kyocera

Caution Performing a hard reset removes all data including the GoogleTM account, system data, app data, app settings, and downloaded apps. Only perform a hard reset if absolutely necessary.

Caution Pictures, Videos and Music are also removed. It is recommended to backup this data.

Note Personal data such as Wi-Fi passwords, Browser bookmarks, User dictionary, a list of installed Google Play apps and other customized settings can be backed up to and restored from Google's servers.

Note Disable Automatic Restore, prior to performing a hard (factory) reset, when attempting to determine whether a third party app is the cause of an Operating System/App issue.

Preferred Method
Alternate Method

 

Preferred Method

  1. From a home screen, select Apps (located at the bottom).
    Home screen with Apps
    Note If in Starter mode, select Menu (located at the bottom).
    Starter mode home screen with Menu
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Select Backup & reset.
  4. From the 'PERSONAL DATA' section, select Factory data reset.
  5. Select Reset phone (located at the bottom).
    Note If presented, enter the current passcode or draw the unlock pattern.
  6. Select Erase everything (located at the bottom).
    Note Allow several minutes for the factory data reset and reboot processes to complete.
    Note To setup the device after completing the factory data reset, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.

 

Top

 

Alternate Method

  1. Ensure that the device is powered off.
    1. To power off, press and hold the Power button Power button (located on the top edge of the device) until the options menu appears then release.
    2. Select Power off.
    3. From the 'Power off' prompt, select OK to confirm.
      Note Allow several seconds for the device to power off.
  2. Press and hold the Volume down key (figure 1) then press and hold the Power button (figure 2) until the 'Kyocera' logo appears (approximately 10 to 15 seconds) then release.
    Volume down key and Power button
  3. From the 'Android system recovery' screen (exclamation point with an android figure), select wipe data/factory reset.
    Note Utilize the volume keys to highlight and the Power button to select.
    Android system recovery screen with wipe data/factory reset
  4. Select Yes -- delete all user data.
    Note Allow several seconds for the factory data reset process to complete.
    Recovery mode screen with Yes -- delete all user data
  5. Select reboot system now.
    Note Allow several minutes for the reboot process to complete.
    Note To setup the device after completion of the factory reset, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.
    Recovery mode screen with reboot system now

 

Top

Last Modified: August 29, 2013
Is this helpful?  
Cancel