Hard Reset - DROID Mini / DROID Ultra / DROID Maxx by Motorola
Is this helpful?  
Cancel  

Hard Reset - DROID Mini / DROID Ultra / DROID Maxx by Motorola

Warning Performing a hard reset removes all data including the Google account, system data, app data, app settings, and downloaded apps. Only perform a hard reset if absolutely necessary.

Warning Pictures, Videos and Music are also removed. It is recommended to backup this data.

Note Personal data such as Wi-Fi passwords, Browser bookmarks, User dictionary, a list of installed Google Play apps and other customized settings can be backed up to and restored from Google's servers.

Note Disable Automatic Restore prior to performing a hard (factory) reset when attempting to determine whether a third party app is the cause of an OS or app issue.

Preferred Method
Alternate Method

 

Preferred Method

  1. From a home screen, select Apps Applications icon (located at the bottom).
  2. From the Apps tab, select Settings.
  3. Select Backup & reset.
  4. Select Factory data reset.
  5. Select Reset phone.
    Note If presented, enter the current passcode or draw the unlock pattern.
  6. Select Erase everything.
    Note Allow several minutes for the factory data reset and reboot processes to complete.
  7. If necessary, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.

 

Top

 

Alternate Method

  1. Ensure the device is powered off.
    Note Ensure the USB cable is disconnected.
    1. Press and hold the Power button (located on the right edge above the Volume keys).
    2. Select Power off.
    3. Select OK.
      Note Allow several seconds for the device to power off.
  2. Press and hold the Volume down button, while holding the Volume down button press the Power button and hold both buttons for three to five seconds then release both buttons.
  3. From the Boot Mode Selection Menu screen, press the Volume down key to highlight Recovery then press the Volume Up key.
  4. From the Android triage screen (Android figure with an exclamation point), press and hold the Volume up key, while holding the Volume up key press and release the Power button then release all keys.
  5. From the Android system recovery screen, select wipe data/factory reset.
    Note Utilize the volume keys to highlight and the Power button to select.
  6. Select Yes -- delete all user data.
    Note Allow several seconds for the factory data reset process to complete.
  7. Select reboot system now.
    Note Allow several minutes for the reboot process to complete.
  8. If necessary, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.

 

Top

Last Modified: August 26, 2013
Is this helpful?  
Cancel