Top Questions: Features & Services

 
 
 
  1. Can I block services online to prevent usage of specific products and services from a mobile device or corporate phone?
     
  2. How do I add or remove blocking features when placing an order?
     
  3. How do I add or remove blocking features while completing account maintenance?
     
  4. How do I change my Voice Mail password?
     
  5. What is Backup Assistant, and how do I use it?
     
 
  1. Can I block services online to prevent usage of specific products and services from a mobile device or corporate phone?
     
    Yes. Several blocking features are available that you can manage online when placing an order or when completing account maintenance transactions. You can add or remove blocking features during either transaction.

    Blocking Feature
    Description
    Block Web Access Blocks the use of data and accessing the Internet
    Block V CAST Video Clips Denies access, provisioning and purchase of V CAST videos
    Block App Downloads Blocks the ability to download Media Store apps onto the device
    Block Ringback Tones Prevents the purchase of Ringback Tones from the device or Internet
    Block Text Messaging
    Prevents a device from sending or receiving any type of standard or premium text or multimedia message
    Block Premium Text Messaging Blocks subscriptions to, or continued use of, premium fee-based text and multimedia messaging programs to the selected mobile number (e.g., ringtone downloads, chat) while allowing all other messaging services to work as usual
    Block Picture and Video Messaging
    Blocks inbound and outbound multimedia messaging
    Note: This block doesn'€™t block pictures and videos shared on social networking sites.
    Block Voice-Packet Data Only Blocks voice calls, with the exception of *611, *228 and 911
    Block V CAST Mobile TV
    Prevents accessing, viewing and purchasing of Mobile TV from the device
    Block VZ App Zone Blocks the ability to browse and purchase add-on apps for your device
     
    Back to top
     
  2. How do I add or remove blocking features when placing an order?
     
    To add or remove blocking features while ordering a new device or upgrading an existing device:

    1. Mouse over the Orders tab and click Purchase Device & Service.

    2. Select a device and click Continue.

    3. Select or decline device insurance. Click Continue to Plans.

    4. Select a plan and the number of Monthly Anytime Minutes you want.

    5. Click Select Plan and Continue.

    6. Select Block Messaging from the Select Messaging dropdown window, and Block Web Access from the Data dropdown menu, if applicable, depending on the device and plan you'€™ve selected. Then click Continue.



    7. On the Select Features page, select the blocking features you want to add or remove, and click Continue.

    Note: Blocking-feature availability is based on the device and plan you have selected. The blocking feature you are looking for may not be available for the device/plan combination you'€™ve chosen. For example, if your device is not Internet-capable, the Block Web Access feature will not be available for it.
     
    Back to top
     
  3. How do I add or remove blocking features while completing account maintenance?
     
    To add or remove blocking features while completing account maintenance:

    1. Mouse over the Account Maintenance tab and click Lines and Services.

    2. Identify the wireless number and select Add / Remove Features from the dropdown menu.

    3. Click Continue.

    4. Add or remove blocking features from the Block Services section of the Add / Change Features page. Then click Continue.

     
    Back to top
     
  4. How do I change my Voice Mail password?
     
    To change your Voice Mail password:

    1. Go to the Account Maintenance tab.

    2. Click on the Lines and Services link.

    3. Under Search Results, locate the desired wireless number.

    4. Select Change Voicemail Password in the drop-down menu and click the Continue button.

    5. Follow the prompts.
     
    Back to top
     
  5. What is Backup Assistant, and how do I use it?
     
    Backup Assistant is a wireless service that saves a copy of your phone's address book to a secure, password-protected web site. If your phone is lost or you upgrade to a new phone, Backup Assistant restores your saved address book to a new phone - wirelessly! You can also schedule daily automatic backups of your address book or you can manually back up anytime, anywhere.

    By logging in to your account at Backup Assistant'€™s Web Portal, you will have full access to your phone's address book. You can view, print, add, delete and edit contacts. Once changes are made, they can be pushed to your phone at the click of a button.
     
    Back to top
     
 
 

Close


There has been no activity for some time.
Click 'Close' if you wish to continue your session.
For your security if you are unable to respond to this message
within 5 minutes you will be logged out automatically.