News Release

Lidstrom, Zetterberg Lead Western Conference In XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports

November 20, 2007

Debra Lewis

NEW YORK — Nicklas Lidstrom and Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings lead all Western Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports. Lidstrom's 80,903 votes top the West, followed by Zetterberg with 58,074. Closing in for the third top spot is Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf with 56,664 votes. The all-digital voting program, launched just six days ago, already has resulted in more than 2.15 million votes being cast.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio). Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Zetterberg, Calgary Flames right wing Jarome Iginla (42,552) and Red Wings center Pavel Datsyuk (39,041) lead all forwards in votes. Lidstrom and Phaneuf are the front-runners among defensemen. Pascal Leclaire of the Columbus Blue Jackets tops all Western Conference goaltenders with 37,574 votes.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to "Vote Now, Vote Often" for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage. Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game as guests of XM. The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players. Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting. To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and

NHL is a registered trademark and NHL SuperSkills, NHL Radio and the NHL All Star logo are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports Western Conference
(as of 11/19/07)


Player, NHL Club, Votes
Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit, 58,074
Jarome Iginla, Calgary, 42,552
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit, 39,041
Joe Sakic, Colorado, 33,307
Mike Cammalleri, Los Angeles, 32,650
Joe Thornton, San Jose, 28,117
Paul Stastny, Colorado, 25,408
Jonathan Cheechoo, San Jose, 23,802
Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim, 20,546
Marian Gaborik, Minnesota, 20,539
Rick Nash, Columbus, 20,508
Jason Arnott, Nashville, 19,015
Mike Modano, Dallas, 17,753
Paul Kariya, Saint Louis, 13,994
Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles, 13,203
Ales Hemsky, Edmonton, 11,122
Shane Doan, Phoenix, 10,787
Ryan Smyth, Colorado, 10,634
Martin Havlat, Chicago, 8,948
Milan Hejduk, Colorado, 8,832
Andy McDonald, Anaheim, 6,965
Brian Rolston, Minnesota, 6,774
Patrick Marleau, San Jose, 6,289
Daymond Langkow, Calgary, 6,175
Keith Tkachuk, Saint Louis, 5,801
Markus Naslund, Vancouver, 5,796
Henrik Sedin, Vancouver, 5,075
*Patrick Kane, Chicago, 4,019
Daniel Sedin, Vancouver, 3,699
Brenden Morrow, Dallas, 3,568
David Legwand, Nashville, 2,279

Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit, 80,903
Dion Phaneuf, Calgary, 56,664
Chris Pronger, Anaheim, 41,046
Rob Blake, Los Angeles, 30,393
Francois Beauchemin, Anaheim, 22,954
Brian Rafalski, Detroit, 22,054
Sheldon Souray, Edmonton, 18,018
Scott Hannan, Colorado, 17,741
Sergei Zubov, Dallas, 16,082
Ed Jovanovski, Phoenix, 14,249
Lubomir Visnovsky, Los Angeles, 12,479
Mattias Ohlund, Vancouver, 11,840
Robyn Regehr, Calgary, 7,382

Pascal Leclaire, Columbus, 37,574
Roberto Luongo, Vancouver, 34,050
Dominik Hasek, Detroit, 21,062
Niklas Backstrom, Minnesota, 19,756
Jean-Sebastien Giguere, Anaheim, 18,325
Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary, 17,026
Evgeni Nabokov, San Jose, 11,246
Nikolai Khabibulin, Chicago, 8,592
Marty Turco, Dallas, 8,400
*write-in candidate