Carryover Data FAQs

General Information

  1. What is Carryover Data?

    Carryover Data is a feature that automatically keeps your unused data in your account until the end of the following month's bill cycle. When you use less data one month, you can use the data you carry over into the next month without paying more.

  2. Who's eligible for Carryover Data, and how much does it cost?

    Carryover Data is included for no additional charge on all sizes of the new Verizon Plan.*

    Carryover Data can't be added to any other plans at this time.

    Note: Carryover Data is also available on select older plans for standard accounts and prepaid accounts. Those plans are no longer available to sign up for.

    *Not applicable on unlimited sizes.

  3. How long do I get to keep my unused data?

    Carryover Data expires at the end of your next bill cycle. For example, if you don't use your entire data allowance in March, that unused data will be available to use until the end of your April bill cycle.

  4. Where can I see how much Carryover Data I have?

    It depends on which plan you have:

    • The new Verizon Plan - The Data Hub screen of the My Verizon app on your phone tells you how much Carryover Data you have from the previous month. It also tells you how much of that Carryover Data you've used.

    • Eligible prepaid monthly plan - Your Carryover Data will be included in the overall Available Data you see for the current month in My Verizon.
  5. What types of data are eligible to be carried over?

    The following types of unused data can be carried over each month. If you have multiple types of Carryover Data available, they will be used in the order listed below:

    • Bonus data
    • Monthly plan allowance
    • Data gifts*
    • Data Boost
    • Unused overage (if Safety Mode isn't active)

    *Not applicable for prepaid accounts.

  6. Do I use my Carryover Data before I use my monthly data allowance?

    If you're on the new Verizon Plan S-M-L sizes- You'll begin using your Carryover Data after you've used all of your monthly data allowance.

    If you have a qualifying prepaid plan
    - Your Carryover Data will be added to your account's Available Data. As you use data, it'll be deducted from your overall total for the month.

isTealiumFlag=true