Wipe Handheld Option - BlackBerry® Classic

Warning Caution:

  • Perform a security wipe only if absolutely necessary as it removes all data including:
    • System and app data
    • App settings
    • Downloaded apps
    • Media (It is recommended to backup this data)
      Note Alternatively, music, pictures and videos can be backed up to a computer.
  • Ensure that the device is connected to a power source to prevent power loss during the Security Wipe process.

 

Note If BlackBerry Protect is or has ever been set up on the device, BlackBerry ID sign in is required during initial setup.

  1. From the Home screen, tap Settings Settings icon.
    Note If not available, swipe down from the top of the display (where the time is located).
  2. Tap Security and Privacy Location Settings icon.
  3. Tap Security Wipe.
  4. Review the disclaimer then enter blackberry into the available field.
  5. Tap Delete Data.
    Note If presented, enter the device password then Tap OK.
    Note Allow up to 15 minutes for the Security Wipe to complete. In some instances, the process may take longer than expected.
    Caution Do not attempt to restart the device or remove the battery until the process has completed. Doing so may render the device inoperable.
    Note To set up the device after completion of the Security Wipe, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.
isTealiumFlag=true