Verizon Ellipsis 8® HD - Initial Activation and Setup - Factory Reset Protection

If you had a GoogleTM account on your device prior to completing a Factory Data Reset, follow these steps to activate your tablet.

Note Notes:

  • The following steps only apply once Factory Reset Protection (FRP) has been triggered.
  • FRP is triggered when a factory data reset is performed while the device is powered off.
  • The device can only be accessed by entering the Google account info used prior to the reset.
    Note If the password for the Google account used to enable Device Protection on the device can't be remembered:
    • Attempt to log in with any Google account previously used on the device.
    • Reset the password.
      Note Once reset, the device won't accept the new password and can't be used for 24 hours.

  1. From the Language selection screen, select the appropriate language then tap NEXT (located in the lower-right).
  2. From the 'Tablet Activation' screen, tap NEXT.
    Note If necessary, allow several seconds for activation to complete.
  3. If presented with the 'Set Up Wi-Fi' screen, tap SKIP (located in the lower-right).
  4. From the Email Accounts screen, tap SKIP.
  5. If presented with the 'Verify your account' screen, sign in with the Google account that was previously synced on the device then tap NEXT.
    Note If not presented, skip to step 9.
  6. If presented with 'Privacy Policy', tap ACCEPT (located in the lower-right) to continue.
  7. If presented with the 'Google services' screen, select from the following to enable or disable then tap NEXT:
    Note Enabled when a check mark is present.
    • Automatically back up device data
    • Help apps find your location
    • Improve location accuracy
    • Help improve your Android experience
  8. If presented with 'Protect your tablet', tap (check) Protect this device (if preferred) to enable a PIN, pattern or password screen lock, then tap NEXT and follow the onscreen prompts if applicable.
  9. If presented with 'Notifications' screen, select an option:
    • Show all notification content
    • Hide sensitive notification content
    • Don't show notifications at all
  10. If presented with the "Which device?' screen, select the desired restore option then tap RESTORE (located in the lower-right).
    Note If troubleshooting an app issue, it's recommended to set up as new device by clicking Don't restore.
  11. If presented with the 'Email Accounts' screen, tap SKIP (located in the lower-right).
  12. From the 'Summary' screen, tap DONE (located in the lower-right).
  13. From the 'Say hello to your personal TechCoach' screen, tap Got it, continue (located at the bottom).
    Note For additional info on the TechCoach app click here.

Related Topics:

isTealiumFlag=true