Apple® iPhone® 8 / 8 Plus - Erase All Content and Settings

Note Erasing all content and settings may help with:

  • a blank or frozen screen
  • apps crashing or freezing
  • keypad and touchscreen problems.
  • audio issues (including device making noises)
  • can't make or receive calls
  • device won't sync

Caution Caution:

  • Erase all content and settings only if absolutely necessary as it removes all data including:
    • Email accounts
    • System and app data (including app settings and downloaded apps)
    • Media (It's recommended to backup this data):
  • If you're signed in to your Apple ID on another device (known as a 'trusted' device), you may be required to enter the verification code sent to the trusted device upon reactivation.

  1. Do the following to ensure Find My iPhone Activation Lock is removed:
    Note An alternate method (restore via iTunes) is available if the device is unresponsive or won't power on.
    1. From the Home screen, navigate: Settings Settings icon > [your name] > iCloud.
    2. Tap Sign Out.
  2. From the Home screen, navigate: Settings Settings Icon > General > Reset.
  3. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
    Note If presented, enter your passcode.
    Note If presented with the iCloud Backup pop-up, tap one of the following:
    • Backup Then Erase
    • Erase Now
    • Cancel
  4. Tap one of the following:
    Note Allow several minutes for the reset and reboot processes to complete.
    • Backup Then Erase
      Note If a backup to iCloud is currently in session, your screen displays 'Finish Uploading Then Erase.'
    • Erase Now
    • Cancel
  5. If needed, set up your iPhone.
isTealiumFlag=true