Erase All Content and Settings - Apple® iPhone® XS / XS Max

Erasing all content and settings may help with a blank or frozen screen, apps crashing or freezing, keypad/touchscreen problems, can't hear, device making noises, can't make or receive calls and device won't sync.

Caution Caution:

  • Erase all content and settings only if absolutely necessary as it removes all data including:
    • Email accounts
    • System and app data
    • App settings
    • Downloaded apps
    • Media (It is recommended to backup this data):
  • To ensure Find My iPhone Activation Lock is removed, sign out of iCloud:
    1. Tap Settings Settings icon > [your name] > iCloud.
    2. Tap Sign Out.
  • If you are signed in to your Apple ID on another device (known as a 'trusted' device), you may be required to enter a verification code sent to that trusted device upon reactivation.

 

Note Notes:

  • An alternate method (restore via iTunes®) is available if the device is unresponsive or won't power on.
  • For specific error messages related to iTunes update and restore, refer to iOS update and restore errors. Advanced iTunes troubleshooting and configuration should be handled by Apple (scroll down to "Product and Technical Support" section).

 

iPhones Using One Cellular Plan
iPhones Using Multiple Cellular Plans

 

iPhones Using One Cellular Plan

  1. From the Home screen, navigate: Settings Settings Icon > General > Reset.
  2. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  3. From the 'iCloud Backup' pop-up, tap one of the following:
    Note If presented, enter your passcode.
    • Finish Uploading Then Erase
    • Backup Then Erase
    • Erase Now
    • Cancel
  4. Tap Erase iPhone.
  5. From the 'Are you sure you want to continue?' prompt, tap Erase iPhone.
  6. To continue, enter the Apple ID password then tap Erase.
    Note Allow several minutes for the reset and reboot processes to complete.
    Note If needed, set up your device.

 

Top

 

iPhones Using Multiple Cellular Plans

  1. From the Home screen, navigate: Settings Settings Icon > General > Reset.
  2. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
  3. From the 'iCloud Backup pop-up', tap one of the following:
    Note If presented, enter your passcode.
    • Finish uploading then erase
    • Backup Then Erase
    • Erase Now
    • Cancel
  4. Tap Erase iPhone.
  5. From the 'Erase iPhone' prompt, tap one of the following options:
    • Cancel
    • Erase All
      Note Choose this option if you're returning, selling, or giving away the device.
    • Erase All & Keep Cellular Plans (Preferred Method)
      Note Cellular plans (including eSIM profile) remain intact after the device is reset to factory settings. Choose this option if you plan to continue using the device.
  6. To continue, enter your Apple ID Password then tap Erase.
    Note Allow several minutes for the reset and reboot processes to complete.
    Note If needed, set up your device.

 

Top

isTealiumFlag=true