Transfer Content with Samsung Smart Switch™ Mobile App (USB Cable Transfer)

What you need:

Old and new phones
Your old and new phones
Samsung Smart Switch app
Samsung Smart Switch app installed on both devices
USB cable
USB cable provided with your phone
USB adapter
USB adapter provided with your phone (if necessary)

Note Notes:

  • The Samsung Smart Switch Mobile app allows users to easily transfer content (contacts, photos, music, notes, etc.) from an old phone to a new Samsung Galaxy device.
  • To transfer your content using the Smart Switch Mobile app, the old phone must be:
    • An Android® device with the app installed running software version 4.0 or later.
    • An Apple® device with iCloud backup enabled.
  • You can also use one of the following Smart Switch solutions:
    • Samsung Smart Switch for PC
    • Samsung Smart Switch for Mac
      Note For more info on downloading and using one of these options, refer to the Samsung Smart Switch support page.

 

1

Start Smart Switch

Prior to transfer, perform an iCloud backup then ensure the Samsung Smart Switch Mobile app has been installed on your Samsung.

  1. From a Home screen on both devices, tap the Samsung Smart Switch icon Samsung Smart Switch icon.
  2. From the Smart Switch screen, tap START.
    Note If prompted, to continue review the Terms of Service then tap AGREE to continue.
    Note If presented, review permissions then tap OK to continue.
Smart Switch start screen

2

USB Smart Switch

From Smart Switch, tap USB CABLE.

Smart Switch options

3

Connect your phones

Connect the devices using the USB connector.
Note Attach your USB charging cord to the Mini USB / USB-C adapter included with your new Samsung device.

Connect devices screen

4

Receive your content

On the new device, tap RECEIVE.

USB Cable transfer screen with send and receive options

5

Allow the transfer

On the old device, tap ALLOW.

Tap allow on old device

6

Choose what to copy

Choose content to move then tap TRANSFER.

Select content to transfer

7

You're all done

From the content transferred screen, tap CLOSE APP on both devices.

Close app
 

 

isTealiumFlag=true