Apple® iPad® - Erase All Content and Settings

Erasing all content and settings may help with a blank or frozen screen, apps crashing or freezing, keypad/touchscreen problems, can't hear, device making noises, can't make or receive calls and device won't sync.

Caution Erase all content and settings only if absolutely necessary as it removes all data including:

  • Email accounts
  • System and app data
  • App settings
  • Downloaded apps
  • Media (It is recommended to backup this data)
    Note Alternatively, music, pictures and videos can be backed up to a computer or iCloud.

Note An alternate method (restore via iTunes) is available if the device is unresponsive or won't power on.

  1. From the Home screen, navigate: Settings Settings icon > General > Reset.
  2. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
    Note If presented, enter the passcode.
  3. Tap Erase.
  4. To confirm, tap Erase.
    Note Allow several minutes for the reset and reboot processes to complete.
    Note To set up the device after the reset has completed, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.
isTealiumFlag=true