From a Home screen, tap Apps (located in the lower-right).
These instructions apply to Standard mode only.
Tap Backup and reset.
If unavailable, tap the Menu icon (located at the bottom-left) then tap Switch to list view.
From the Back up and restore section, ensure the appropriate account is selected from the Backup account field then configure the following:
Enabled when a check mark is present.
If data back up is disabled, existing backups are deleted from Google's servers.
Personal data such as Wi-Fi passwords, Browser bookmarks, User dictionary, a list of installed Market apps and other customized settings are backed up to Google's servers.
Data and settings are restored to applications utilizing the backup service upon re-installation.