Erase all Content and Settings - Apple® iPhone® 4s

Erasing all content and settings (hard reset) may help with a blank or frozen screen, apps crashing or freezing, keypad/touchscreen problems, can't hear, device making noises, can't make or receive calls, and device won't sync.

Caution Caution:

  • Erase all content and settings only if absolutely necessary as it removes all data including:
    • Email accounts
    • System and app data
    • App settings
    • Downloaded apps
    • Media (It is recommended to backup this data):
  • Sign out of iCloud (Settings > iCloud > Sign Out) to ensure Find My iPhone Activation Lock is removed.

 

Note Notes:

  • An alternate method (restore via iTunes) is available if the device is unresponsive or won't power on.
  • For specific error messages related to iTunes update and restore, refer to iOS update and restore errors. Advanced iTunes troubleshooting and configuration should be handled by Apple (scroll down to "Product and Technical Support" section).

 

  1. From the Home screen, navigate: Settings Settings icon > General > Reset.
  2. Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
    Note If presented, enter the passcode.
  3. Tap Erase iPhone.
    Note Allow several minutes for the reset and reboot processes to complete.
    Note To set up the device after the reset has completed, refer to Initial Activation and Setup.
isTealiumFlag=true