Safety Mode lets you keep using data at reduced speeds after your data allowance is used up for the month. You can stay online without worrying about overage fees.
*Doesn't apply to unlimited options.
Safety Mode is available for no additional charge on the new Verizon Plan (shared data plans, e.g., S, M, L) and is automatically enabled on the Just Kids plan.
No other plans are eligible for Safety Mode at this time.
The Just Kids plan: Safety Mode is enabled and can't be turned off.
The new Verizon Plan (shared data plans, e.g., S, M, L): You can turn Safety Mode on and off in My Verizon, or on the Data Hub screen of the My Verizon app on your phone.
Business accounts: If you have an eligible plan, you can turn Safety Mode on and off through My Business Account.
Once you opt in, you'll automatically go into Safety Mode any month you run out of data. You won't incur overages unless you disable Safety Mode.
If you turn Safety Mode off, you'll be charged for overages if you run out of data.
While in Safety Mode, you'll have reduced speeds of 128 Kbps. Video and audio streaming may be impacted while in Safety Mode.
If you want faster speeds, you can:
Our Data Boost FAQs page has information about Data Boosts and how to buy one.