Understand and change your plan FAQs

Find answers to questions about your plan including finding your plan name and changing your plan.

For instructions on how to change your plan visit our How to change your plan page.

General Information

  1. What is my plan and how much data, voice and messaging do I have?

    You can find your plan name and data, voice and messages allowance online and with the My Verizon app.

    • Online: Go to the My Plan page in My Verizon.

    • My Verizon app:
      1. Open the menu in the top left.
      2. Tap Account.
      3. Tap My Plan.

    Here you can view the following plan details:

    • Name of your plan
    • Data, voice and messaging allowance amount
    • Current features & services

      Note: If you have more than one mobile number on your account, select the one you want from the dropdown in the My Devices section.

    If you're worried about data overages, consider switching to unlimited. With Go Unlimited, Beyond Unlimited and Above Unlimited, you'll get unlimited data*, talk and text and more. Learn more about unlimited.

    *4G LTE only. During times of congestion, your data may be temporarily slower than other traffic (only after 22 GB/line/mo on Unlimited Plan and Beyond Unlimited or after 75 GB/line/mo on Above Unlimited). Not available for machine-to-machine services. Mobile hotspot/tethering reduced to speeds up to 600 Kbps (only after 15 GB/month on Unlimited Plan and Beyond Unlimited, or after 20 GB/month on Above Unlimited); domestic data roaming at 2G speeds; int'l data reduced to 2G speeds after 0.5 GB/day (on Unlimited Plan, Go Unlimited, Beyond Unlimited and Above Unlimited). If more than 50% of your talk, text or data usage in a 60-day period is in Canada or Mexico, use of those services in those countries may be removed or limited. Video streaming is HD (SD on phones on Go Unlimited plan). Auto Pay (checks, home banking, or debit cards only) & paper free billing req'd. Discounts not available.

  2. How do I switch to the new Verizon Plan?

    If you want to switch to the new Verizon Plan, you can change your plan online or with the My Verizon app. Learn how to switch to the new Verizon Plan.

  3. How do I change my existing plan online?

    Learn how to change your current plan in My Verizon. You can add more data or increase your voice and messaging allowance in My Verizon.

    You can also mix and match unlimited data plans on the new Verizon Plan.

  4. If I change my plan, will my upgrade eligibility date be reset?

    No, your upgrade eligibility won't be affected by a plan change.

  5. Will changing my plan affect my contract end date?

    No, your contract end date won't be affected by a plan change.

  6. Will I be charged a fee to change my plan or my minutes, messages or data allowance?

    No, there's no cost to change your plan or your allowances in My Verizon. However, your monthly access charge, taxes and surcharges may increase or decrease depending on the price of the plan you choose.

    Note: If you have a plan with an unlimited minutes and messages option, such as the new Verizon Plan or The MORE Everything® Plan, data will be the only allowance you need to change online. All other plans will have options for changing each allowance (i.e., minutes, messages and data) and an option to switch to the new Verizon Plan.

  7. Can I increase the minutes on my current plan if it's a discontinued plan?

    If you have The Verizon Plan or most older plans, you need to switch to the new Verizon Plan if you want to change your data allowance. If you have The MORE Everything Plan or a Nationwide plan, you can change your minute, text and data allowances in My Verizon without changing plans.

  8. How can I determine which minutes, messages or data allowance is best for me?

    Go to Account Analysis to see a graph of your usage history. Based on your usage results the Account Analysis page will display a recommended plan if there's one more appropriate for your usage.

  9. How soon after changing my plan or allowances for minutes, messaging or data will My Verizon display my new plan?

    Your new plan or data allowances should display in My Verizon within 24 hours after making the change or after the date you've selected for the change.

  10. How do I check how much of my minutes, messages and data I've used this month?

    There are two ways to check how much of your allowance you've used during your current bill cycle:

    • The My Verizon app: The Data Hub in the My Verizon app shows how much data you're using and keeps you in control over surprise overages. Learn more about the My Verizon app.

      Note: Usage amounts aren't displayed if you're on an unlimited plan.

    • My Verizon: View your usage on the View Usage page. For a more detailed usage analysis, go to the Account Analysis page. Here you can see your usage history trends and we'll provide a recommendation if there's a plan that better fits your needs.

      Note: Usage amounts aren't displayed if you're on an unlimited plan.

    • By phone: Call #MIN or #DATA (airtime free) from your mobile phone.
  11. If I have a pending order on my account, can I change my plan or my allowances for minutes, messages or data online?

    Yes, if you have a future transaction on your account, you'll have the option to cancel the pending order when you change your plan allowances. If you cancel a future transaction remember that you'll have to place it again.

    Notes:

    • An Account Owner or Account Manager can remove a pending order from an account online in My Verizon.

    • An Account Owner or Account Manager can request a future transaction to be cancelled by clicking the Chat with us button at the bottom right corner of this page to contact one of our representatives. Learn more about account access roles.

    • If a pending order is removed, then it's canceled and the order will have to be placed again.

    To remove a pending order from your account:

    1. Go to the Pending account changes page in My Verizon.
    2. Click Delete next to the pending order you wish to remove.
    3. Click Delete pending account change.
isTealiumFlag=true